Humble by Nature.

IMG_1252

Hey guys!

And no, that title is not supposed to be describing me, it’s the name of an adorable farm I visited last weekend with my parents.
This is more of a ‘lifestyle’ post I guess you could say, something different again for me to write about but I just enjoyed the experience so much I felt I had to share it!

If you live in the UK and have ever watched a programme called Springwatch, you will know a lady called Kate Humble. She presented Springwatch along with Bill Oddie a few years ago and it was honestly one of the best nature programmes I ever watched, I used to look forward to it every spring and my family would watch it religiously, every night 🙂
But enough about the programme, Kate now owns and runs a farm in Monmouth, in the South of Wales which is roughly a 20 min / half hour drive from where I live in Newport. The village itself is gorgeous (although rather posh for me, I stick out like a sore thumb) and her farm is tucked away neatly in the surrounding countryside. We did actually spot Kate herself very briefly, a little bit of a thrill for me to say the least!

As you enter the farm, there’s a lovely little garden walk with various edible plants, labelled along the path…

IMG_1255

IMG_1257

Around the corner there’s several fields with goats, chickens, geese, ducks, cows and adorable little piglets ^_^!!

IMG_1258

IMG_1260

IMG_1259

IMG_1263

IMG_1276

And into the cafe for some lunch, which is an adorable little space converted seemingly from an old barn but still managing to look very stylish while retaining a wonderful country charm.The pictures we thought were brilliant and educational 🙂

After we’d cooed over the baby animals enough we ventured into the shop which leads onto the cafe, both of which we could have easily spent a LOT of time and money in. I made to with browsing all the items in the shop…

IMG_1269 IMG_1267 IMG_1266 IMG_1264

The menu is just full of gorgeous sounding food, including my dad’s choice which was a pulled pork sandwich –

IMG_1274He was much happier with it than he looks 😛

Mum and I went for the vegetarian option which was a mezze which consisted of hummus, roasted Mediterranean vegetables, beetroot, salad, bread and olives. (we both opted to have more salad instead of olives, they taste like soap to me, bleh!) and it was Deeeeeeeelicious!

IMG_1272 IMG_1270My juice was delicious too, ‘rapple’ they called it, a mix of Bramley apples and raspberries 🙂 super tasty and I’m sure very healthy.

Of course we had to check the cakes out too, I wish I’d got a picture of all of them but I’m glad I took a snap of my blueberry and poppyseed cupcake –

IMG_1275

So sweet! And very yummy too!

I’d highly recommend a visit if you live anywhere near or fancy a bit of a drive somewhere, definitely worth it 🙂 I’ll be dragging my husband there soon no doubt!

(oh yes, I got married in June :D!)

Lovelove

HannahLouise xx

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

